Capitol Watch — Hawaii Politics and Government { Stay up-to-date with Civil Beat's live blog about Hawaii politics and government.

Fourteen Democrats Apply For Vacant Senate Seat

Here are the names you already know: Colleen Hanabusa, Brian Schatz, Tulsi Gabbard, Ed Case, Esther Kiaaina, Tony Gill, Donna Mercado Kim, Will Espero and Blake Oshiro.

Here are the names you probably do not know: Timothy Hogan, David Tarnas, Kurt Lajala, Earl Winfree and Antonio Gimbernat (pictured below). Several of these largely unknown candidates have previously run for office. 

That makes 14. They do not include the names of Ben CayetanoJohn Waihee and Mufi Hannemann.

In all likelihood, three names will be pulled from this first list of names above and sent to Gov. Neil Abercrombie. The State Central Committee of the Democratic Party of Hawaii will meet at 8 a.m. Wednesday (Dec. 26) at Ward Warehouse to do the winnowing.

Read Civil Beat’s story on the SCC.


Posted on